The full 11 seat Queanbeyan-Palerang council has been confirmed

The Queanbeyan returning office has been busy counting votes since Saturday evening.

The Queanbeyan returning office has been busy counting votes since Saturday evening.

The first ever Queanbeyan-Palerang Council was announced on Thursday morning with all 11 seats being confirmed.

The first nine results were as expected with former Queanbeyan Mayor Tim Overall, Brian Brown (Labor), Mark Schweikert (Liberal), Trudy Taylor, Peter Bray, Trevor Hicks, Kenrick Winchester, Michele Biscotti and Peter Marshall (Greens) all securing a spot.

The final two spots were won by former Palerang Mayor Pete Harrison and Country Labor’s Radmila Noveska.

The council will see the return of nine former councillors from both the former Queanbeyan and Palerang councils. The first time councillors are Mr Biscotti and Ms Noveska.

The council is split with seven Queanbeyan based councillors and four from Palerang.

Speaking after the council was confirmed, Peter Bray said it was a very positive result following the amalgamation.

“There is nothing from the results today to show a Queanbeyan Palerang divide,” Mr Bray said.

“There is now a lot of learning to be done by the council.

“For example I need to learn about the rural aspects of life in Queanbeyan-Palerang.”

Kenrick Winchester said he was proud to have been elected by his fellow constituents but had one disappointment.

“I think this is a really strong result for Palerang,” he said.

“But I’m disappointed to not have a representative from Braidwood.

“Every major area in Queanbeyan-Palerang is accounted for except Braidwood and now we all have a responsibility to make sure their needs are met.”

There will be an extraordinary meeting of council next Wednesday, September 20 to choose a mayor and deputy mayor.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide