RFS volunteers honoured with Long Service Medals

Rural Fire Service (RFS) volunteers, who have clocked up more than 800 years of service among them, have been honoured at a special medal ceremony in Queanbeyan.

Forty five volunteers from the Lake George zone were presented with service medals by the Member for Monaro John Barilaro on Friday.

RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons, Queanbeyan Mayor Tim Overall and Palerang Mayor Peter Harrison were also in attendance.

Volunteers were presented medals for 10 and 20 years of service.

Jeff Elliott, Peter Greenwood, Don Evans and David Hubbard were honoured for each having dedicated more than thirty years of service to the RFS.

Andrew Douglas who joined the Burra Brigade in 1963 was presented with a long service medal for giving diligent and active service to the RFS for half a century.

“It’s rare and unique to have a service of such dedicated professionals who often give up their own livelihoods to help others in times of emergency.

“Each volunteer is a shining example to the community and we appreciate and thank them for that sacrifice.

“What they face every day is often challenging; their loyalty and dedication is truly remarkable” said Mr Barilaro.

12 recipients of the National Medal & Clasp service: Mike Kelly, Deryck Clark, Allen Ryan, Ken Beltrami, Sheldon Williams, David Doblinger, Glen Sparkes, Wayne Seymour, Jeff Elliott, Therese Moore, Geoff Andrew, and Andrew Douglas.

Long Service Medals/Clasps : Brad Griffin, Craig Green, Ellen McFadyen, Mark Barrett, Nicole Clark, Larry King, Wayne Cram, Bruce Taloni, Matthew O'Brien,Tracey McKnight,Colin Fitzgibbon, Edwin Lowery, Daniel Barwick, Darrell Tipton, David Cochrane, Wayne Dalton, Amelia Maria, Brad Arrowsmith, Peter Cullerne, Andrew Dunn, Darrol Dykes, Clifford Spong, Geoffrey Foster, Neville Schroder, Richard Hobbs, Colin Prest, Andrew Heaney, Leigh Wilmington, Leslie Worden, Jeffery Elliott, Peter Greenwood, Peter Greenwood, Donald Evans and David Hubbard.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide